Happy New Year Wisconsin!

At least that will be my hope as I sit in the Rose Bowl watching Wisconsin play Stanford next year, which is an example of how misleading words can be, as I have often discussed in this blog.  Next year is tomorrow.

English: Bucky Badger, mascot of the Universit...

English: Bucky Badger, mascot of the University of Wisconsin. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I had so many thoughts for what to write in my last post of 2012, too many of them actually.  And I can’t concentrate since  my mind is really focused on a Badger win on New Year’s Day.

For those who don’t know, I’m a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  And this will be the third straight year they play in the Rosebowl, the third straight year I will be there and hopefully not the third straight year they lose.  I am a big believer at the moment in the notion that the third time is the charm.

As of this writing there still seems a ray of hope for some kind of pre-fiscal clurb deal today, but if one does get done, its worth will likely be slight and all of the real fiscal issues will still sit there waiting to be solved.

So, I’m happy to take a wait and see attitude, especially since I need to get my things together to head up to Los Angeles to be with my red and white “peeps” , brewing a zone of energy that will lift  our valiant Badgers to victory tomorrow over a very good Stanford team.

While not quite as challenging as getting our Congress to function, I would see a Wisconsin victory as a good omen for 2013, likely to prompt a kinder, gentler America with a government that actually works.

All this a Badger victory might portend.

Leave a Reply

