It’s All Just Too Much These Days…..

….for me to write a coherent post worth reading.   But I’ll try….  On the home front in Washington everything, or most everything is political theater aimed at the 2016 presidential election, and I feel no rush to dwell on that, unlike the cable channels which feast upon it.

On the foreign front, the Middle East seems to be spiraling towards ever greater chaos, most notably of late Yemen’s government collapsing yesterday, along with its Obama-portrayed image as a success story in our counter-terrorist efforts.     Lucky for President Obama that the collapse happened after his state of the union speech Monday and his short but too sweet picture of our making progress in that region.  The speech would have required some major rewrites.

As the Yemen government was collapsing, with no one apparently “in charge” at this point, it seemed to me too coincidental that reports came out yesterday about 5,000 ISIS fighters killed along with “half their leadership” along with plans to retake Mosul, the second largest Iraqi city in the spring.

Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel seemed surprised by the body count revelation – painfully aware having fought there, of how body counts during the Vietnam war were so misleading.  It seems to me that the administration was trying to put some information out there to counter balance the awful news from Yemen.

And, in case you haven’t noticed since Ukraine has been crowded out of the “news”, the civil war is going strong in eastern Ukraine with the Russian backed rebels more than holding their own, and that’s not even the central government’s main problem, which is an economy that desperately  needs more propping up from the West.

…. and the Deputy Prime Minister of Russia, Igor Shuvalov, sounding quite bellicose in warning the West that our attempts to weaken their leader, Mr. Putin,  through sanctions would only make the Russians more determined to sacrifice for him.

So, while I continue to like and admire our President, our foreign policy is not up to dealing with the rapidly changing events in the Middle East and Ukraine.   In saying that I’m not suggesting the Republicans would do any better.  Burgeoning chaos is tough to manage for anyone.  And, who took the lid off this Pandora’s box to begin with?  A hint.  He is sometimes referred to as G. W…..

Well, I did manage to come up with a post and hopefully someone out there finds it somewhat interesting.   At least you know I’m still around thinking about these things, even when I can barely make sense of any of it.

2 responses to “It’s All Just Too Much These Days…..

  1. I am glad you made the effort, because I enjoy your posts very much – as much as I deplore the truth in your musings. I may not comment often, but I want you to know that I appreciate a balanced view from an intelligent mind, and I hope you continue to share your thoughts with us. I spend quite a bit of time in my old homeland of Sweden, and you would be much appreciated here if you were a contributor to one of the major Swedish newspapers.

    • Thank you for your reply Agneta. It does much to buoy up my spirits which have been flagging lately what with so much going on overseas and me certainly no expert on any of it, and so much I never even touch upon. I just try to make some sense of things like I imagine many others try to do. You letting me know you find what I write worth reading is a big boost to me.

Leave a Reply

